The CPD Register Logo

CPD Accreditation Organisation

The Professional Development Consortium (T/A CPD Standards Office) Limited

Listed for review

Directory listing

Sourced observations about The Professional Development Consortium (T/A CPD Standards Office) Limited from public records. Where a value is missing it is shown as N/A.

Section 1 of 5

Identity and legal status

The footer of every page reviewed names the operator as "THE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT CONSORTIUM (T/A CPD STANDARDS OFFICE) LIMITED, a company registered in England and Wales", with company registration number 08293321, a registered office in Ashton-on-Ribble, Preston, PR2 2YP, and VAT number GB174226806. The membership terms (clause 2.1) give the same company number and registered office. Companies House lists the company as Active, a private limited company incorporated on 14 November 2012, with the same registered office and nature of business SIC 94120 (activities of professional membership organisations). Its previous name, THE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT CONSORTIUM LIMITED, was held until 25 January 2024. The filing history records total exemption full accounts made up to 31 December 2025, filed on 28 September 2026, and a confirmation statement made on 14 November 2025; the next confirmation statement is due by 28 November 2026. Companies House lists three active directors and one person with significant control, The Professional Development Consortium Group Limited (12361927), holding 75% or more of the shares, notified on 10 December 2019. The About Us page states that "The CPD Standards Office forms part of the Professional Development Consortium". Accessed 28 October 2026.
Companies House number
08293321
Incorporation date
14th November 2012
Legal entity identified
Yes
Legal form
Limited company
Register status
Active
Number displayed on site
Yes
Filings consistent
Consistent
Connected businesses
Identified and disclosed

References

  1. 01
    About Us and footer www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  2. 02
    Membership terms, clause 2.1 www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  3. 03
    Companies House overview find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  4. 04
    Companies House officers find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  5. 05
    Companies House PSCs find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  6. 06
    Companies House filing history find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026

Section 2 of 5

Contactability

The footer of every page reviewed publishes a trading address at Cygnet House, Market Square, Staines-upon-Thames, TW18 4RH and the telephone number 0203 745 6463. The contact page gives a UK head office at Cygnet House, Market Square, Staines-upon-Thames, TW18 4SP, a MENA office in Dubai, the telephone number +44 203 745 6463 and an enquiry form, and states that the team will respond "between 9am and 5pm UK time". An email address is published on the About Us page and in the membership terms (clause 2.2), and a Data Protection Officer email address is published in the Privacy and Cookie Policy. The complaints procedure refers to roles, including a client relations manager and a Director of Membership, without naming them. We looked for a named individual identified as a contact for clients or complaints on the contact, About Us, complaints, privacy and membership terms pages and did not find one. A "Start chat" control appears on every page. Accessed 28 October 2026.
Live chat
Yes
Address published
Yes
Telephone published
Yes
Email published
Yes
Named contact published
Not found

References

  1. 07
    Contact Us www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  2. 08
    About Us and footer www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  3. 09
    Complaints Handling Policy www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  4. 10
    Privacy and Cookie Policy www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  5. 11
    Membership terms www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026

Section 3 of 5

Published information

The Assessment Policy states that assessment is based on the CPD Research Project launched at Kingston University Business School in 2010 and that "All assessments are undertaken against the criteria derived from the project and subsequently acquired experience". We looked for the criteria themselves on the Assessment Policy, Become Accredited, How the Process Works, What is CPD Accreditation and FAQs pages and did not find them. The "How Much Does CPD Accreditation Cost?" page states "There is no single fixed price for CPD accreditation" and that the cost depends on the type of certification and the number of courses, activities or events, confirmed on a free consultation call. The How the Process Works page states that membership runs for a minimum of two years and then on a one-year rolling basis; the membership terms state a 12-month minimum period with automatic 12-month extensions unless 60 days' written notice is given.

Membership terms covering the accreditation service, a Privacy and Cookie Policy (stated to be updated as of 10 June 2026) and a Complaints Handling Policy are published. The site is served over HTTPS. The FAQs page states that the service "accredits by item" and that, for large portfolios, repeated elements such as company policies need not be submitted for each activity. The How the Process Works page states that the trustmark "is unique to your organisation and carries your own membership number"; we looked for a unique number for each accredited activity and did not find one. The CPD Directory at directory.cpdstandards.com offers keyword, provider name, coach and provider ID searches; the entry for BPI Consultancy Ltd shows "CPD Standards Office Provider Number: 22758" and lists its accredited activity by name. We looked for a stated cycle on which accredited activities are re-assessed and did not find one. The ICO register lists The Professional Development Consortium Ltd T/A The CPD Standards Office under registration reference ZB662297, registered 20 February 2024, expiring 19 February 2027. Accessed 28 October 2026.
ICO number
ZB662297
ICO registration date
20th February 2024
Activities individually accredited
Yes (stated: accredits by item)
Review frequency
Membership minimum two years then annual rolling (stated); re-assessment cycle not stated
Criteria published
Referred to but not published
Pricing published
Basis published
Terms published
Published
Privacy policy published
Published
Complaints policy published
Published
Website secure (HTTPS)
Yes
Individual assessment stated
Stated
Accreditation number stated
Not stated
Verification route
Published list
Review cycle stated
Not stated
ICO registration
Registered

References

  1. 12
    Assessment Policy www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  2. 13
    What CPD accreditation costs www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  3. 14
    How the Process Works www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  4. 15
    Become Accredited www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  5. 16
    FAQs www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  6. 17
    Membership terms www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  7. 18
    Privacy and Cookie Policy www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  8. 19
    Complaints Handling Policy www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  9. 20
    CPD Directory directory.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  10. 21
    CPD Directory provider entry directory.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  11. 22
    ICO register, name search ico.org.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026

Section 4 of 5

Advertising and claims

The home page states that the organisation has "accredited members in 81 countries" and, further down the same page, "members in 72 countries". The home page describes the CPD Research as "one of the largest academic studies into the field of Continuing Professional Development". The Become Accredited page lists among the benefits of accreditation "Get known as the BEST in your industry" and states that the organisation "provides credibility in a way that no other accreditation and qualification service can". The About Us page states that the organisation provides "independent accreditation". Accessed 28 October 2026.

References

  1. 23
    Home page www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  2. 24
    Become Accredited www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  3. 25
    About Us www.cpdstandards.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026

Section 5 of 5

Regulatory record

The ASA published a ruling on The Professional Development Consortium Ltd t/a CPD Standards Office on 6 May 2026 (reference A25-1322754) concerning two paid social media ads on Meta. The ASA records that "Two issues were investigated, both of which were Upheld." The first concerned the claim "UK's leading body" (CAP Code rules 3.1 and 3.7); the second concerned whether the claim was verifiable (rule 3.35). We also checked the ASA's list of non-compliant online advertisers, on which the organisation does not appear, and searched for published ICO, Trading Standards and CMA enforcement action naming the organisation and did not identify any. Accessed 28 October 2026.
Published rulings
Identified

References

  1. 26
  2. 27
    ASA rulings database search www.asa.org.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  3. 28
    ASA rulings database search www.asa.org.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026
  4. 29
    ASA non-compliant online advertisers list www.asa.org.uk · accessed 28 Oct 2026
Last verified 28th October 2026

Is this your organisation?

Claim this listing to manage your details, respond to reviews, and apply for Registration or Certification with The CPD Register.

Disclaimer

We do our best to ensure that all information is accurate and up to date. If you are part of the above-mentioned organisation and some of the information we have found is inaccurate please contact us at [email protected] so we can rectify this for you.

Methodology and Criteria for CPD Accreditation Organisation Listings