Section 1 of 5
Identity and legal status
The footer of every page reviewed names the operator as "Continued Professional Development Ltd.", registered in England and Wales, company number 13198098, at 1 Coldbath Square, London, EC1R 5HL. The full Terms and Conditions name the business as "Continued Professional Development Ltd t/a Open CPD". Companies House lists CONTINUED PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT LTD (13198098) as an active private limited company, incorporated on 12 February 2021, with its registered office at 1 Coldbath Square, Farringdon, London, EC1R 5HL. Companies House lists one director, who is also company secretary and the one person with significant control. The latest accounts were made up to 31 March 2025 and the next accounts are due by 31 December 2026; the latest confirmation statement is dated 23 January 2026. We looked for connected businesses on the pages reviewed and did not identify any. Accessed 28 October 2026.
- Incorporation date
-
12th February 2021
- Legal entity identified
-
Yes
- Legal form
-
Limited company
- Register status
-
Active
- Number displayed on site
-
Yes
- Filings consistent
-
Consistent
- Connected businesses
-
None identified
References
-
01
-
02
Contact
open-cpd.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
-
03
-
04
-
05
-
06
-
07
Section 2 of 5
Contactability
The Contact page publishes the registered office address, a WhatsApp telephone number, a contact form and a meeting booking link. The same address and WhatsApp number appear in the Privacy Policy and Terms summaries. We looked for an email address on the home, How it works, Pricing, Contact, Verification, FAQs, Charter, Privacy Policy and Terms pages and did not find one. We looked for a named individual identified as a contact for clients or complaints on the same pages and did not find one. Accessed 28 October 2026.
- Live chat
-
No
- Address published
-
Yes
- Telephone published
-
Yes
- Email published
-
Not found
- Named contact published
-
Not found
References
-
08
Contact
open-cpd.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
-
09
-
10
Section 3 of 5
Published information
The How it works page states that the provider sets up each course against an "Aims, Skills, Outcomes" structure and then, in the page's words, "accredit it yourself, in minutes". The page states "Open CPD doesn't validate, review, or endorse the quality of your training", and the Terms state "We do not accredit, approve, validate, or take any responsibility for the content" of training. Every provider agrees to the Open CPD Charter, an eight-principle document published on the Charter page, which states that it "does not function as a regulatory or accrediting instrument". Pricing is published on the Pricing page, including VAT: Pay as you go £50 for 25 credits, Business £45 a month for 30 certificates, Professional £90 a month for 120 certificates, and Enterprise on request; one credit issues one certificate. Terms and Conditions (updated 7 October 2026) and a Privacy Policy (updated July 2026) are published, each as a summary page with a full text. We looked for a complaints procedure on the Contact, FAQs, Terms, full Terms and Privacy pages and did not find one; the address /complaints returned a page-not-found response. The site is served over HTTPS.
The pages reviewed do not state that Open CPD assesses individual courses. Each certificate carries a "unique verification ID"; we looked for an accreditation number for a course or provider and did not find one stated. The Verification page offers "Check Provider" and "Check Certificate" lookups. We looked for a review or re-approval cycle for accredited courses and did not find one stated; the Pricing page and Terms state that subscriptions and credits run for 12 months from the latest payment. An ICO register search for "Continued Professional Development" returned registration ZB272439, Continued Professional Development Ltd, other name "Open CPD", registered on 12 December 2021 and expiring on 11 December 2026, with an address in London WC2H. Accessed 28 October 2026.
- ICO number
-
ZB272439
- ICO registration date
-
12th December 2021
- Activities individually accredited
-
No (stated)
- Review frequency
-
Not stated (12-month subscription)
- Criteria published
-
Published
- Pricing published
-
Published
- Terms published
-
Published
- Privacy policy published
-
Published
- Complaints policy published
-
Not found
- Website secure (HTTPS)
-
Yes
- Individual assessment stated
-
Not stated
- Accreditation number stated
-
Not stated
- Verification route
-
Lookup
- Review cycle stated
-
Not stated
- ICO registration
-
Registered
References
-
11
-
12
-
13
Pricing
open-cpd.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
-
14
-
15
-
16
-
17
-
18
FAQs
open-cpd.com · accessed 28 Oct 2026
-
19
-
20
Section 4 of 5
Advertising and claims
The home page is headed "Effortless CPD Accreditation for Your Courses & Events" and states "Self-accredit your training in minutes" and "With the right structure, no audit or external approval is necessary." It also states "Attract more learners with CPD that holds up to scrutiny". The How it works page states "32 Countries with providers issuing through Open CPD" and lists wording providers may use, including "Systems accredited through Open CPD" and "CPD certified by [Your Organisation]", adding "Never 'accredited by Open CPD' — we don't accredit anyone". The "Is Open CPD recognised?" page states "You can say your training is accredited through Open CPD" and "The organisations that describe themselves as accreditors have appointed themselves, each with its own standards." Accessed 28 October 2026.
Section 5 of 5
Regulatory record
We searched the ASA rulings database for "Continued Professional Development", "Open CPD" and "open-cpd.com". The search for "Continued Professional Development" returned six rulings and one informally resolved case, each naming a different organisation; the searches for "Open CPD" and "open-cpd.com" returned no rulings and no informally resolved cases. We checked the ASA non-compliant online advertisers list and did not find the organisation on it. We also searched the web for published ASA rulings and for ICO, Trading Standards and CMA enforcement action naming "Open CPD" or "open-cpd.com". No published ruling or enforcement action naming this organisation was identified. Accessed 28 October 2026.
- Published rulings
-
None identified